What's new
What's new

Making money from CNC? Naive?

ichudov

Hot Rolled
I am completely new to CNC. My current plan is to fix or retrofit a Bridgeport Series II Interact 2 CNC mill that I bought, to the point where it is actually usable.

I do not harbor any illusions that a person of my skill level, a beginner garage machinist, can make a comfortable living by competing with millions of underpaid Chinese workers, or to make more money than I make in my day computer job (which I love).

What I was hoping for is just to make a bit of money on the side with a CNC mill, making and selling some hard to find machine parts or doodads.

An example could be making replacement compound slides for a lathe, for instance. I would try to sell those on ebay.

Has anyone ever attempted doing something of the sort. Thanks

i

I ask myself long and hard every day to figure a way out of this business. To be right honest, some people love it, some people just do it. Sure seems there is a doodad machinist born every 5 min. I learned quickly that there is about .001% of machinists that actually make any money at it. Many turn and burn in the garage making some elaborate pieces that sell for scrap price.

We get asked constantly why we do not make this and that. My response is "and what does it cost retail?" Sorry, I don't get out of bed to machine a 50 dollar block for 2 hrs and sell it for 100 bucks and sell 5 of those per month.

Sorry, I am bitter today.

Will you make any money..... Possibly yes.

Will you make any profit.....Probably not.

At least not without a depth of knowledge.

And that don't come overnight.

.....I'm in Vipers bitter club.