What's new
What's new

Mazak vs Okuma opinions needed

captivereef

Plastic
I have to buy a new machine for machining some smaller 6-12" dia hardened ni hard castings which are around 55rc. Nothing fancy just milling some ID and OD

currently running them on my dynapath with no issue other then slow tool change and rapid speed.

I've narrowed my choices down to a mazak VC-500C and a okuma GENOS 560

Any input on either of these machines, im a die maker not a CNC machinist but landed this job.

I'm liking the mazak because I can get a front load pallet changer and machine for $135,000

not sure how I like the cutter moving as opposed to the table though

okuma is gonna run me $99,000 no pallet changer

don't necessarily need the pallet changer but it will help reduce part Change time

my biggest concern is rigidity and dependability.

not sure what machine to go with any input is appreciated

How the service and support in your area. I worked in a shop full of Okuma. They wouldn't even consider a Mazak because service is pretty bad in our area.

service is great for both, im right over the border from Illinois in Wisconsin so no service issues at all.

IMHO, the Iron is very similar quality, the Machinery is very comparable in quality overall. The controls are different though. OSP is head and shoulders better than everything else out there, but not as common as the Mazak Mitsu interface.

R

That's a really good price for the Okuma. Did you take everything off? (Probes, conveyor, through spindle coolant, etc)

A pallet changer saves a lot of time if you're running in production. More than you'd expect. If it is a short running part, the machine isn't down while your operator takes a dump and a smoke break. If it is a long running part, you can load it two tables worth instead of one when you go home.

On the other hand, a pallet changer has twice the fixturings costs, and is harder to set up, so doesn't make sense for onesies-twosies.