What's new
What's new

Miter saw or portable table saw?

NGrimberg

Banned
Hello everyone, great forums here and your advice has helped a lot in the past!

I am a beginner who has made a few small projects and I'm considering buying either a miter saw or portable table saw: I use our woodshop at work to cut a lot of my wood for my projects and would like to be able to do that at home. Been using the chop saw for cutting 1x2s, 2x4s. I have rarely used the table saw and have resorted to my circular saw and straight edge to cut small boards. Anyway, I do have limited space and thought a portable table saw may be more versital because I can cut flat boards as well as cut 2x4s? Any thoughts are appreciated.

Those little portable table saws are frequently just an upside down skilsaw on a cheap aluminum table. Not worth the trouble IMHO

I know you don't have space, but can I tell you what an enlightenment my Unisaw has been?

And on the Delta front, I also have a Delta[never ever Sears] radial arm saw, it can do things a chop saw cannot

With some creativity you can do most things a table saw can do with a circular saw, but precise miters not so much. If you had space for a real table saw I would say go for that they are night and day from a portable. go for the miter saw. check craigslist for deals. think carefully about what width boards you want to cut before buying a miter saw. or look into a sliding miter saw.

Yesterday I had to rip 12' long 6" decking to 5 3/8 ..set small table saw on the school garage floor and with a roller truck on the out end cut them perfect. Small table saw is best if it has a good squaring fence..so you din't have to double measure ever job..even an extra 100 (+) bucks is well spent for features that help make a job go smooth.
and faster.
Still a table saw is not a good chop saw..
making some fixtures can be handy.