What's new
What's new

Driiling .020 holes in .05" thick brass .. Plunge/ Feed and RPM Help!!

mpix00

Plastic
I need help from some experienced cnc'rs...I am drilling 61 holes that are .020" OD into .05" thick brass. I put my spindle rpm to about 3000 and doing .4" Plunge rate into .05" thick brass. I am using my cnc mill but I notice my drill bits keep breaking.

I did notice that when I blew the brass chips off that it seemed to stop the breaking. Could brass swarf , even small as .020 drilling into .5" thick brass, at a .4" plunge rate, cause the drill bits to get stuck and break? Or is there a better Plunge rate and RPM that I should be using? Also, should I spot drill the 61 holes first?

I am new to this , so I am thinking maybe I should be having to blow air to clear the small brass swarf while drilling? Any help please as I need to make quantity pieces doing this 61 hole drill set up. Thank you for any information/help and your time doing so!
Torch Tip.jpg

What is your maximum RPM on your machine? You should be at max for a drill that small.

Are you spot drilling first? What drill are you using?

Give us more info and we can help.

Your photo is some funny looking brass.

Also, should I spot drill the 61 holes first?

Yes, this. A .02" drill has little chance of running on-point without a spot to get it started.

Wait, .05" deep,. or .5" deep? You say both. If .5" deep, then you are at 10xD and most definitely need to spot first as you will be having to use a snaky 10xD drill.

Also, if .5" deep, are you pecking? Probably have to ;).

What do you mean by ".4" plunge rate"? 0.4 IPM? At 3000 RPM I make that to be .00013" per rev, which is pretty dainty.

Regards.

Mike

Yes, this. A .02" drill has little chance of running on-point without a spot to get it started.

Wait, .05" deep,. or .5" deep? You say both. If .5" deep, then you are at 10xD and most definitely need to spot first as you will be having to use a snaky 10xD drill.