What's new
What's new

need help w basic programming

ohiolatheguy

Plastic
Hi all, im new to this, ive been a lathe operator for a long time but never been involved with programming due to no programming on the floor...anyways now im thinking of taking a dif job offer but will need to do some basic programming... my question is what is the most normal user friendly formulas to figure out my speeds and feeds for basic lathe operations like turning, drilling, tapping, etc...I will just be handed a blueprint and have to program it,im ok w the codes and layout etc.. just need the basic formulas...any help would be great, im trying to get a head start before taking the offer..thanks

3.82 is the magic number.. surface speed*3.82/working diameter = rpm. rpm * advance per revolution = feedrate (in advance/minute)

But speeds & feeds for turning are actually even simpler, particularly if you're using constant surface speed. Feeds will be given in actual advance per revolution, so no calculation is done there, and surface speed is entered directly. You'll still need to know how to calculate surface speed for instances where CSS isn't available (drilling, boring, etc) but it covers a lot of it for you.

Take a look at youtube, put in my name, Heinz Putz, and you will see 5 parts of a CNC DVD called "CNC Partmaking".
A good section of this DVD is the simplified calculation, shortcuts and reasoning for lathe speeds and feeds.
Learn all you can, write back with any questions.
Heinz, doccnc.com

thanks for the response, couple of questions, the formula for rpm, where do you get what the surface speed is suppose to be ? and as far as feed, what does advance per rev mean

Whatever little handy speeds and feeds formula/calculator you choose to use in your programming remember to limit the RPM to what your gripping situation will tolerate.

without a limit (G50) on the RPM you'll be wide open when at X center line. Just saying...

Brent