What's new
What's new

I.D. chucking problem

mthomure

Cast Iron
I read this site almost every day and know someone has an answer for my problem. I am machining some yo yos for a guy and I am turning the O.D. second operation. I have little to no experience I.D. chucking.

Part is delrin with about .250 wall thickness. Part has a .047 deep groove .094 back. I have bored a set of jaws and with the chuck pressure all the way down (about 50 pounds) the part comes off with 3 steps where the jaws have pushed and cut more material away at the jaw spacings. My question is how do I get this to not push out so much?

Thanks in advance. Michael

So, you have a through hole? Sounds like you may be able to machine a plug with a drilled and tapped hole in the end, and mount the ID of the YO on it, fasten the YO on with a washer and SHCS. That way you won't deform the ID and you have easy access to the OD.

RAS, you posted while I was still typing.

RAS,
I purchased one but can not seem to get it to expand more than a few thousands. This collet system I have never used. Got it from US Shop Tools. It is for a 16C collet nose.
Michael

hess no through hole. Flat on I.D. only goes back .200 with .094 of that is the lip. Has some wierd angles and a pointed cone on the center.
Michael

I've worked with 5C expanding collets that were troublesome; sometimes they didn't grip/release well with drawtube pressure alone. Does yours have a tapped hole and cap screw in the center of the outboard end? If so, use that for tightening/loosening.

On Edit: Ah, no through hole... can you post a pic of the part?

RAS

Silly question. Did you undercut the back side of the soft jaws to take out the tool nose radius? Also, when you made your soft jaws did you chuck on a piece of material at your selected chuck pressure to turn to the internal size of your parts?