What's new
What's new

Need machine recommendations to cut Foamboards

yae

Plastic
Basically I need to cut foam sign boards much like Ultra Board's and I have zero experience.

It's panel consist of a rigid polystyrene face laminated on both sides (it's similar to cardboard)
The inside is closer to polystyrene foam.

I need to manufacture intricate cuts with minimum dimensions of 150cm x 120cm x 10mm (aprox. 60 inches x 48 inches x 3/8 inches )

These boards cut like butter with a sharpened blade, but quite frankly, it is not feasible for mass production by hand.

Can anyone recommend an inexpensive machine that meets the requirements of the dimensions?

I was thinking of some sort of router that can cut two boards double stacked. Or a drag knife, I'm sure you could increase the IPM with just a knife.

I don't think you can use a drag knife on material that has any significant thickness. Sounds like any router will do a good job.

From ultra board website:
ROUTERS: Routing of ULTRA BOARD works well for creating irregular shapes. We recommend bits available from Onsrud Cutter, Inc., (847) 362-1560 and Vanguard Tool Corp. (276) 673-3496. Use Onsrud Cutter series 52-200 or Vanguard Tool part number VSC-102. Router bits should be double fluted carbide, upward chip removal, with a 1/4” shank diameter and a 3/16” cutting diameter. For best results run at 18,000 rpm and 85 inches/minute. Feed rate may be varied to compensate for larger bit diameter and different rpm. For special and long router bits for CNC routers, we recommend contacting Hartlauer Bits (541) 343-0390.

Good to know, do you have any recommendations on inexpensive machines? I just don't quite trust those chinese made machines.