What's new
What's new

New Machine Day...at long last

Gearheaded

Plastic
Hi Everyone:

I don't post much, I think only about 7 times or so over the years. Mostly a lurker with little time and only like to post if I'm adding something to the conversation. I've learned a great deal from reading here over the years. My first "real" cnc mill has finally arrived at it's new home, despite some interesting challenges over the last few months, and I would like to post a couple pictures and ask just a couple questions and see if anyone knows much about the machine I purchased.

A little background...I've got a nice little machine shop that I've been building up for 20 years a little at a time. I rarely do job shop type work at home, and own the shop mainly for production of my own products with a few production jobs from various friends now and then. Its basically my retirement plan, since I don't have any other. But all machines paid for...very low overhead, and no debt.

I've gathered up machines on the cheap when I could find and afford them, but have never been able to complete the loop with a "real" cnc mill until now.

My machine list as of now in order of purchass:
1995-Sherline manual lathe...I know, a silly hobby toy but it was a start, and I still use it regularly for small quick carburetor parts and such.
1996-Hardinge DSMA automatic turret lathe with bar feeder...paid for itself many times over
1997 Sherline CNC mill with tooling bought new...Taught myself milling and G code and even made some money with it
1998 Enco 12 x 38 manual lathe...nearly new
1999 Mid size manual mill from the now defunct Tektronics tooling shop
2002 Small injection molding machine
2003 Elgin manual turret lathe for second ops
2004 Burris 6 position turret drill press...traded carburetor rebuild for it
2005 1967 Tornos cam style swiss screw machine...awesome machine, every attachment, also from Tek making oscilloscope parts. Sold this one last year to make room