What's new
What's new

New to the robodrill

tspang

Plastic
Does anyone have any help or suggestions on a complete newbie to CNC operations? I have a few years experience running a mill. Lots of conversational programming. My shop just bought a robodrill and I've been selected to head it up. We're a job shop so lots of onesie twosies. Any suggestions on how to get this bad boy up and running to a level we are really making money?

Does anyone have any help or suggestions on a complete newbie to CNC operations? I have a few years experience running a mill. Lots of conversational programming. My shop just bought a robodrill and I've been selected to head it up. We're a job shop so lots of onesie twosies. Any suggestions on how to get this bad boy up and running to a level we are really making money?

Automate as much as possible. I have done the following on my Brother that really helps:

1) Programs that make loading tools easier (I'm assuming you have an automatic tool setter, if not, get one immediately). Write these programs so that they return the machine to the position that it was in when you called the program. This is uber helpful so you waste less time jogging the machine.
2) Write all your probing programs (I highly recommend a spindle probe for onsies twosies) so that they copy some reference coordinate system in the machine and then offset from that so that you have a good starting point. This way you don't have to job the probe, ever, and it saves so much time.
3) Get lots of tool holders.