What's new
What's new

Nitronic 50 or 60 if you have a choice

doug925

Titanium
I have a part to quote that the customer only asks for "nitronic"
Never having cut this stuff before (and after some searching on here) I get to chose, but I am not usre which one.

Also, I read that this stuff will move.
This part will come from 4"Ø x 3" long bar.

Will this part move out of tolerance after, or during cutting?
my.php

Thanks,

Doug.

I have some experience with it, not as bad as everyone says.

I don't recall it moving much if you use a CNGP insert ground edge or such with hi-pos geometry.
Assuming this is turning..

I think we turned it in the 140 SFM range, .090 DOC, .012 feed.
Machined pretty well if I remember right, just can't get too froggy with it.
I used to have a pic of the part, it was an exhaust nozzle for some kind of NASA chemical rocket motor test. I think they mentioned Hydrazine :eek:

Nitronic 60 I used to machine all the time for boat prop shafts and rudder shafts. We machined taper, undercut, external threads a thru hole and two keyways per shaft. Sizes ranged from 7/8" diameter x 18" long to 3-1/2" diameter x 20 foot.

I set up to machine basically the same as I would for 17-4ph or 316SS. Sharp tooling, flood coolant whenever possible. Slow speed High feeds and No Dwells. Real sharp chips so avoid stringy chips.

I machined with Carbide and HSS tooling without issue as long as tooling was sharp.

HSS tooling ran about 20-35 SFM and Carbide around 100-150 SFM, feeds and speeds really varied from op to operation and setups.

Doug,