What's new
What's new

deep hole tapping in SS 316 L

milindiliz

Plastic
Dear All,
This is my first post in this forum, so please forgive any inadvertant mistakes...

we have a SS 316L ( hardness RC 33) tube with ID approx 6.8 mm and O.D. about 12.7 mm ( ~0.5"). I need to tap M8 threads internally to a depth of 130 mm (min 5") and a maximum of 230 mm ( approx 9")
THe threads have to be precision threads.
Queries:
1)is it better to use a cutting tap or a Roll / Form tap
2)should the tap be cannulated and have option of forcing lubricant/ tapping oil under pressure?
3) what sort of machine is ideally suited for this job?

Do note that we have spent a long time trying to get taps that are this long--folks at Emuge and Sandvik declined!

I am a little new to this & would be very grateful for any pointers, tips and pearls from the experts.
thanks
milindiliz

If it were me I guess I would try to tap using a tap peck cycle. It sounds funny but if done right in a macro you can tap to any depth you want to using pechs like drilling. The only thing you ne to do is make sure you can program
the spindle to start at the same deg every time to match the lead thread in the part and the tap.
Also we us rigid tapping w/thru spindle coolant.
The taps we get we edm the center out for thru spindle coolant. Just my 2 cents..

Thanks for your replies folks.

dear mmachining: pls be kind enough to elaborate on tap peck cycle--does it have to be done on a blind tube or can it be done on a thru tube ?
on a M8 tap what is the max dia of the hole that can be made on EDM for coolant without weakening the tap? ( it being about 150mm long --6")
thanks lots, for all your tips.

dear ox:the "precision" thread refers to the fact that this is to be a part of a mechanism in which there is a smaller threaded part which will travel down these internal threads in the tube--without jamming etc.