Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    IndGild is offline Cast Iron
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    ct
    Posts
    476

    Default Opinion on Emco cnc lathes, please

    Hello all

    We are in process of buying new cnc lathe.
    So i would really appreciate your opinion...of course if you used their machines.
    Generally how is their quality?
    we are thinking Emco Hyperturn 45

    Thank you

  2. #2
    mori4200 is offline Aluminum
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Warren, PA
    Posts
    57

    Default

    What kind of parts you want machine?

  3. #3
    SIM
    SIM is offline Titanium
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Staten Island NewYork USA
    Posts
    2,272

    Default

    I've have an Emcoturn 340 for years.

    Quality is top shelf, Control is the Seimens 810...took awhile to learn, Softkeys and lots of them, but once I did I was able to fly on it.

    Once it warms up, machine holds size all day long, fantastic resolution for making intricate adjustments, real solid machine tools last incredible finishes.


    Down side...don't let them get old. Parts and service become major issues. Parts are Pricey....No, the Parts are VERY expensive. Service phone calls after warranty are fee based...although I understand the need to generate income from someone on the phone answering questions all day.


    My intention was to put several more Emco's on my floor, I like them that much...but the selling point of "Quality that will last a Lifetime with Sunsetting Support turned me off.

    In short, great machines but unless I was in a position to trade them in for new every few years...

  4. #4
    micro's Avatar
    micro is offline Hot Rolled
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    955

    Default

    We have 2 and SIM summed it up perfectly. These machines makes great parts, but if you have to fix them..... That said, I wouldn't hesitate to buy a new one if it fit my needs/budget.

  5. #5
    pcasanova is offline Aluminum
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    vacaville ca
    Posts
    145

    Default emco's

    We have two of there machines and they have pretty much ran 24/7 since we got them (10&7years). There both Siemens and the older one is a 840c but you'll be getting the 840d if you go with the siemens option which we also have on the newer machine and that control has been pretty rock solid and easy to learn and program. Spare parts can get pricey through emco, if it's not a emco produced part, they do put manufacturer and part #'s in there books so you can go straight to the vendor and cut the middle man, ex- they wanted around $240 for a prox switch that I got local for about $80.

    I would go with the Siemens option. I was talking to the tech one day about Fanuc vs. Siemens and he said the siemens was cheaper and unless you were doing 5axis the siemens had everything included for options where the fanuc had to have all the options added that drove the price way up.

    and if you go with the hyperturn are you looking for the power mill with b & y axis?

  6. #6
    Heinz R. Putz is offline Hot Rolled
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Posts
    918

    Default Opinion on Emco cnc lathes, please

    I have been training shops on Emco controls since they came to the US way back.
    They are fast, accurate, hold good tolerances and also last.
    My suggestion is to get the Fanuc control for 2 reasons;
    Resale value and the fact that this is not going to be the only CNC lathe you will own in the long run. Most other machines will have Fanuc as their standard control.
    On their Fanuc setup: For whatever the reason, they use the European version of the Fanuc G-Codes. Its a little different than the version used here, not a big deal, but it makes no sense to me.
    Inch-Metric are different codes, so are most of the Canned Cycles, and a couple more.
    If you do get Fanuc, the primary codes like G0, G1, G2, G3, G96, G97, are the same.
    Examples on my website are in the most used G codes used here.
    www.doccnc.com
    Good luck: Heinz.

  7. #7
    red beard's Avatar
    red beard is offline Aluminum
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Grand Rapids, MI USA
    Posts
    194

    Default

    We have and Emcoturn 342 with a Fanuc OT that we purchased used a few years ago. It had a few issues with the turret when we first got it, but since we fixed that it's been a great machine.

    I was not impressed with Emco-Maier's customer support. They wouldn't even give me a price on a replacement part unless I gave them a credit card number so that they could charge me for phone support. I ended up getting the part(for the turret) through Indexing Technologies who is the importer of the Sauter turret on our machine. They were very helpful.

    -Aaron

  8. #8
    rltco is offline Aluminum
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Iowa, USA
    Posts
    75

    Default Emco

    I have 2 Emco's - an old 342 that has been an absolute workhorse, can't remember it being down a day since we bought it used over 10 years ago, and a 365 w/sub-spindle and live tooling. More recently, Emco has not been charging for phone support. Yes, parts are pricey, but usually can find alternate suppliers. My machines hold tolerances from start up throughout the day. I have grown so fond of the Siemen's control, that it has severely curtailed the list of lathes I will consider buying in the future.

    ray

  9. #9
    IndGild is offline Cast Iron
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    ct
    Posts
    476

    Default

    Thank you all
    3 emco hyperturn 45 will come in the house , siemens control
    sure they will be new

    don`t tell me i am lucky to play on it

  10. #10
    IndGild is offline Cast Iron
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    ct
    Posts
    476

    Default

    Just to bump this one up
    Since that day we bought 5 more machines. Al same hyperturn45 with y axis and live tools, 2 turrets, subspindle and auto loader(not bar feeder)
    Great machine , user friendly...
    We love it
    Not sure what end number will be....
    So far count is 8( last 3 coming in next week )

  11. #11
    John_B is offline Cast Iron
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Georgetown, TX
    Posts
    318

    Default

    Cool deal, nice to see an update.

    I love my older 465 and hope to upgrade to a hyperturn in the future, but for now the one I have has been rock solid and barely a glitch all things considered. I can't imagine buying a new Emco with a Fanuc control, there are so many features the Siemens adds that Fanuc hasn't thought of yet (this coming from a Fanuc coolaid drinker).

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •