What's new
What's new

Presetter - Offset question

Sean S

Titanium
Hi all,
Although I've had a toolchanging CNC (Deckel FP4NC-TC) for several years, I've never used the tool offsets in any project.

Since I'm rarely making more than one of anything (and even that's rare), and using only a few tools (mixed with "manual" actions), I am a total offset novice.

Generally I've just touched off each tool prior to running the part of the program that used it.

I do have a presetter, although I have never really used it.

So here I am. I could really use any tips on presetter use, and how it works into the process, and I do have one actual question to start with...

...Where does one determine the zero length offset to be? Or in other words, offset from what?
Should I be making some sort of standard to touch off with in the NC that also gets used to zero the presetter or??

I feel I must be missing something pretty obvious.

Many thanks for your advice
Sean

Hi all,
Although I've had a toolchanging CNC (Deckel FP4NC-TC) for several years, I've never used the tool offsets in any project.

Since I'm rarely making more than one of anything (and even that's rare), and using only a few tools (mixed with "manual" actions), I am a total offset novice.

Generally I've just touched off each tool prior to running the part of the program that used it.

I do have a presetter, although I have never really used it.

So here I am. I could really use any tips on presetter use, and how it works into the process, and I do have one actual question to start with...

...Where does one determine the zero length offset to be? Or in other words, offset from what?
Should I be making some sort of standard to touch off with in the NC that also gets used to zero the presetter or??

I feel I must be missing something pretty obvious.

Many thanks for your advice
Sean

It's from the gage line of the taper to the end of the tool. The gage line of the spindle is also the reference point of the machine Z.