What's new
What's new

Proper Feeds and Speeds - Steel Turning with Carbide on Taig CNC Mill

Mike28303

Plastic
Hello Machinists,

I just purchased a Taig about five months ago, and am entirely self taught (using what I could find on the internet). I am cutting small molds out of 6061 aluminum, and have made my own alignment pins out of 1/4" mild steel rod by putting it in the mill collet and fastening a tool post with carbide insert lathe tools to the mill bed so it works like a lathe. Here is a video I found that demonstrates what I'm doing:

Taig Mill Turning with lathe conversion - YouTube

I also chamfer the pins after turning them to dimension (using a 45 degree carbide insert tool).

I understand that HSS would be ideal, but Carbide is more convenient as my learning curve is already vertical. Of course, if this is the only way to achieve excellent results, I will do it.

My current settings are definitely not correct, although I made them work for my last pins. My fear is that I have dulled the carbide because of my error.

Current settings:

RPM: 10,600
IPM: 12
DOC: .005 to get it close to size, .002" for the finish.

Here are the Mill specs so you can understand the limitations:

Taig Mill w/Ballscrews
RPM: 1050 to 10,600 (There are five grooves on the spindle, so I can do the following: 1050, 1650. 2600, 4200, 6700, or 10,600)
IPM up 100
1/4 HP Spindle Motor

I'm using flood coolant as well.

Could someone help me select the best settings?

My Brother.

I regret to inform you. We don't actually talk about Taig's here. Your in a professional manufacturing Forum. Most blokes with mill's here, start at $56k - $80K

Next general meeting. I'll raise it as an issue, Sticky message is only atop the General section. Not here in CNC
http://www.practicalmachinist.com/vb/general/machinery-discussion-guidelines-137724/

Mike. You would be better off on a Home shop.

http://bbs.homeshopmachinist.net/forums/3-General

Surely there's a Forum for Taig's?

giphy.gif