What's new

A question about $$$

Solar71

Titanium
Hi all...
Im new to CNC machining...
But i was wondering...

Right now at work I...

Get new parts from other manufacturers without blueprints... I then use my Micrometer and caliper and all the other little tools for radii and threads and angle... Then i use Autocad to draw a blueprint for our machinists... with tollerances and everything... Including chomed areas and weldements... Then i take my drawing and cut it up , and export it to mastercam... Then i create the tool paths and all that... Then i generate the program... upload it to the CNC machine, and then edit the program to get it just right for about 15-20 minutes... (my post is not exactly perfect) but no big deal... Then i do all the settup and offsets and everything... Then i run the part too... And double check the first 3 to 5... Ocne that is all done and good, i will pass it to another man at work, and he will run the rest and make sure to adjust for tool wear...

So i can do all the stuff they want...

Remember... this is lathe, i have no clue about mill... But that is what i will learn next...

I was just wondering what someone could expect to make in $ per hour in Southern California for doing this stuff...

PS : where i work is a great place... But sometimes it seems like i never have enough money... and im always living from one paycheck to the next... Is this normal? or should i be making more ?

So what is a fair $$$ per hour figure ???

Also i will be learning CNC milling as well... and once i learn that, how much should i get at that point ?

Thanks again you guys....

Seriously, the pay scale for doing what you do is all over the place. I'm in North Carolina, and I think you could expect to get $18-$22 an hour, depending on the place.

There are probably a few places out here that pay much higher. Finding them is the trick.

Southern California would average higher, but not as much as you might think.

Benefits will vary big time too.