What's new
What's new

Question Regarding Thread Milling

Italiano83

Aluminum
So I'm pretty new to thread milling, but I believe I have my program correct and I have still been breaking thread mills. The scenario is like this: 304 SS Material, Internal Thread, 9/16-18 Thread Size, Thread Mill Multi-Tooth Solid Carbide

Now before the tool breaks, which happens every few parts the thread comes out PERFECT. The reason I believe the tool may be the problem and not the program is that the tool needs to stickout a bit more than I would like to reach the area to be threaded. I have a feeling a solid carbide tool is the problem. I believe the tool pressure exerted on the brittle carbide tool is the issue. I'm thinking of switching to a hardened steel holder with removable carbide inserts to overcome this issue.

Has anyone had similar problems? I just feel a solid carbide ID thread mill is not ideal for this type of operation with forces along X-Axis of the tool.

Any comments regarding this would be helpful. Thanks, -Jon

So I'm pretty new to thread milling, but I believe I have my program correct and I have still been breaking thread mills. The scenario is like this: 304 SS Material, Internal Thread, 9/16-18 Thread Size, Thread Mill Multi-Tooth Solid Carbide

Now before the tool breaks, which happens every few parts the thread comes out PERFECT. The reason I believe the tool may be the problem and not the program is that the tool needs to stickout a bit more than I would like to reach the area to be threaded. I have a feeling a solid carbide tool is the problem. I believe the tool pressure exerted on the brittle carbide tool is the issue. I'm thinking of switching to a hardened steel holder with removable carbide inserts to overcome this issue.

Has anyone had similar problems? I just feel a solid carbide ID thread mill is not ideal for this type of operation with forces along X-Axis of the tool.

Any comments regarding this would be helpful. Thanks, -Jon