What's new
What's new

Recommended CNC Mill for High School Robotics Team

cyberx86

Plastic
I am a teacher, and one of the lead mentors of a competitive high school robotics team, based in Hamilton, Ontario, Canada. We are looking to acquire a small, reliable CNC mill, primarily for use with aluminum, for under C$20k all in.

Robot
We participate in the FIRST Robotics Competition (FRC), and build 120lb robots. These are approximately 2ft by 3ft, and move at 10-20ft/s. They are built from scratch in about 6 weeks, with separate refinements made for about 6 additional weeks.

Team
Our team consists of 20-30 male and female students, grades 9 to 12. The majority of these do not have previous experience with machines, but have gained experience with hand tools, as well as machines such as drill presses and bandsaws through out program. We have around 10 mentors, with various experiences – many in the science/engineering fields, but some who are millwrights or have backgrounds in manufacturing technology. While our team has a solid background in CAD, 3D printers, a little CAM/CNC, and manual mills, there is no specific experience in CNC Mills. Our students and mentors are usually quick to pick up new techniques, and are eager to learn. We would like something that is not overly complex to setup or maintain. We are happy to learn about feeds and speeds, and perform maintenance such as lubricating easily accessible components. We would like to avoid machines requiring custom G-code or complex programming in order be functional.

Facility