What's new
What's new

Replacing horizontal lathes with vertical

dn889312

Plastic
Hello, I am new to the forum and machining in general. I'm a manufacturing engineer and have spent most of my month here learning how to run the machines and getting an understanding of what is going on. So I am currently the engineer with the most machine shop knowledge. The machine shop here consists of ~10 Doosan 400/700s that have been purchased throughout the years. The process involves roughing and finishing stainless steel/nickel alloy billets up to 12" in diameter, weighing 100-500 lbs. Some of the older machines are due to be replaced, so I have been researching that. I have been looking into vertical lathes, as space is an issue here and capacity needs to expand. I have received a quote for a new Doosan V8300, but I don't know much about it yet as the quote was given before I started here. A Mazak salesman is coming in next week to discuss their options.

No one here knows much about these so I am hoping you guys can help me. What questions should I be asking? What differences should I expect from a VTC as opposed to the existing HTC? Any opinions on what brands of machines I should look into more?

......What differences should I expect from a VTC as opposed to the existing HTC?

Slugs like you describe are easy to load into a horizontal lathe. Couple slings and a hoist. Not so easy to safely load into a vertical lathe. Often requires some kind of device or mechanism. On the other side of the coin, once sitting on the chuck they are easier to deal with on the vertical.

Do you use the tailstock on these parts? If so, not many verticals have one.

I was hoping that loading into the vertical would be easier, but I hadn't really thought about how it would be done. Currently they are loaded in with a sling and hoist, but it is difficult to get it centered/level in the chuck. It takes a few minutes and hammer swings to get it centered properly.