What's new
What's new

Rotary table "lazy susan" style to compensate for limited y axis travel.

Wsurfer

Cast Iron
Hi All,
I recently took a job in the semiconductor industry as a design engineer. I've been machining my own designs for a few years on the puny machine in my garage. When they found out I could do CNC, my machine has been running a lot for smaller parts. We use a lot of in house fixtures for our process that are large (to me, too big for my machine). The parts are ~ 22" diameter 3"-4" thick made from 6061-T6. The parts are nothing complicated. Imagine a large Pie plate with pockets/tapped holes with a minimum wall thickness ~.25". They want me to bring the machining process in house due to our need for very fast turn around. Looks like my budget would be around $40K for.. I'm thinking of a used HAAS. These parts do not require any tolerances better than ~.008". From what I've seen these parts exceed the Y travel for machines in this price range. I've made large parts (plastic)similar on my mill by machining half/rotating 180 degrees,indicate, and finish the opposing half. Would it be possible to use a rotary table laid flat to simplify the machining of a part this large ?. would a Rotary table be rigid enough for aluminum used in this configuration ?.

Thanks in advance,
Matt

Possible, yes.

But think about the overhang on a 22" diameter 3" thick disc (X or Y; doesn't matter).

Rotaries, by design, have to have fairly closely spaced bearings, so the mechanical advantage is not in favour of that device.

So, it could work, but you may have to reduce rpm and feed to control chatter.

Going out on a small platter you are going to be reducing the rigidity a good amount. That said you can work around it somewhat.