Securing Solid Carbide Saw W/O Keyway
Close
Login to Your Account
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Default Securing Solid Carbide Saw W/O Keyway

So I've never used a saw without a keyway before. It's a robbjack 3" diameter 0.125" thick 30 tooth saw for nonferrous, 1" arbor hole.

How tight should I make the screw holding the saw? Usually with keyed HSS saws I have done about 45ft/lbs, is that sufficient?

Also, can I use pretty much any old arbor? The one I have uses a 1/2-20 screw with a head that is 1.187 diameter. Is it fine or normal to secure a keyless carbide saw by basically only a 0.09-wide rim around the edge? I would love to use one of Robbjack's arbors but I need to be able to reach down a little over 2.5".

Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Illinois
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

If it is a cat40 then try this...

CAT4-SSA1.-3.5 Slitting Saw Arbor Holder - Made in USA MariTool

I like to rough up the saw a little and put loctite on the tool holder arbor face and saw. That is why I make my slittling saw arbors with either a bunch of small holes or notches for gripping the loctite.

3. Likes lowCountryCamo liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

So how tight do you recommend making that screw if I don't use loc-tite? 40ft-lbs? 80? 120? Dodge Challenger Demon?

Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Illinois
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

I dont see a reason why you wouldn't want to use loc-tite. Even just a little. Beats ruining a holder and breaking a saw.

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Well it's cleaner and simpler to not use it and I figured if I made it tight enough I'd be ok, but, especially having never done it before I'll probably use it as an extra layer of safety. You have a good holder design.

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)