What's new
What's new

SFM Formula?

OKKHM1250 MAN

Plastic
When I first went to a local trade school, and we were figuring SFM for drilling, we were taught the formula sfm=4xcutting speed dividedby tool dia.. I've been doing cnc milling for now 10 yrs. and always had a programmer with the exception of one shop. today, my programmer gave me a different formula thats sfm x 2.82 (ithink) x tool dia. which one is right. i found that if i tried to figure 100sfm in cast iron using a .120 (#31)twist dr. @.0025ipr i get a different result using each. and then me and said programmer got into a little tift about his speed and feed of the .120 drill. he had prog. for 325rpm @ 1ipm. seemed way tooooooooooooooooooooooooo slooooooooowww to me, so i gave his little formula a try and came up with about 3200rpm @ 8ipm. the said i was crazy. i tried it any way, and whuddya know, 4 hole, .3 dp @ about 1 min as opposed to his way @ about 4mins. i figured his sfm to be about 12. again, which one is right?

jts

SFM does not equal RPM.

The Revolutions Per Minute formula is correct, but not for Surface Feet per Minute as you say:
4 x Cutting Speed / work diameter = RPM. (IIRC, 4 is just an approximation used for Pi)

SFM is close to the formula your programmer gives, but is actually:
diameter x .2618 x RPM = SFM

SFM Formula

I developed and used the simplified formula for teaching RPM for cutters since the earliest days of CNC, its
SFM times 4, divided by the tool diameter.
Its not quite accurate, the 4 should be 3.82, but it gets you so close, and it is easy to do in your head.
A .5" drill in Mild Steel, using 100 SFM= 100 times 4, divided by .5= 800 RPM.
In those days I worked for Swedish Machine Tool and we manufactured a 50 HP CNC lathe with a 10 step gearbox, it had no G96, so we had to figure the closest RPM for each cut.
My job was to install the machine and teach the customer to make their first part or two.