What's new
What's new

Supermax lathe programming problem.

patiobob

Plastic
I'm very new to this CNC lathe world. I purchased a supermax ycm-tc-2 last fall and finally have the phase converter up and running, tooling dialed in, and have written a program for the OT fanuc controls. I've been struggling with programming "part zero" but think I figured that out. I am mentioning this in case it is part of my current issue. In addition, I wrote a simple facing program that I could not to get to work, After hours wasted I read in the manual that in MDI mode you cannot use canned cycles G71 g72 or G73. I then attempted to use G75 cycle as the manual states that will work. This is an old "tape" machine and I cannot load any data unless I use MDI. As if right now, in addition to being really frustrated, I've discovered that no matter how I write the code I cannot use any form of "Feed" specification or the program stops. I do not get an alarm message though. I can use g00 all day and send tooling where ever I want, but as soon as I use any g01 code with a feed the machine just stops, in the same way it did every time I used a canned cycle. When I run a "previous owner program" from the memory it works just fine and has no issues with feed values. I've searched the memory and I can't find any programs from previous owner using canned cycles, he used all g01 codes with feeds. I've tried just very simple programming using go1 codes also. But for some reason they only wont work in "my" program. I don't know what I am missing in setup or in the program? Any ideas? I even copied his program line for line using the size parameters I needed and still can't get it to work. Thanks in advance for the help!

Where to begin? Never tried running canned cycles from MDI. Feed override on zero? G99 G1 X/Z Feed won't move unless the spindle is turning, try G98 G1 X/Z Feed?