What's new
What's new

Advice on moving our prototyping work in-house with a Brother Speedio?

SVFeingold

Aluminum
Hey everyone,

I'm an engineer in Atlanta, one of the founders of a very small company making tennis gadgets (shot-stats.com if you're a tennis fan!). I've recently started considering the possibility of doing our own prototyping in-house, and even our own production runs for metal parts (7075) until the demand outstrips our desire/capability to make parts. Which it hopefully will someday. :) I'm hoping to get some advice from you much more experienced folks as a basic sanity check. This will be a long post as I type fast and tend to be long on the details, so grab a Snickers. I do apologize for that, I know many of you hate walls of text. But anyone who makes it through gets my deepest gratitude! And if your advice saves me from a costly blunder I'll be happy to send a tool your way. :cheers:

The type of advice I'm looking for is stuff like:

- Is the machine a solid choice for our needs?
- Are the options I'm considering worthwhile?
- Are my fixturing ideas optimal?
- Is my cost estimate realistic?
- Is my "basic shop setup" realistic?
- Did I miss anything?

Bit of background on me, I'm a lifelong tinkerer/mechanical engineer by training/EE by studying. I've worked closely with machinists (or been the machinist) in just about every job I've ever had. I have a decent grasp on the basics although most of my machining experience has been manual (bridgeport or engine lathe) with the exception of a waterjet and laser engraver. I pride myself on being an engineer with well-developed practical skills...and one that machinists usually don't want to injure after they receive drawings.