What's new
What's new

thread programming on lathe

HelpImLost

Plastic
I was looking through a tooling catalog for threading tools. In the catalog they said something about the canned threading cycles on a lathe doesnt make real good threads sometimes because of the depth of cut isn't deep enough or something. It said that it is better to write a custom program for threading? Now im new to this stuff so I do not know what they are talking about. Anyone know what they are talking about and if you do can you give me an example of a custom threading program. Thanks again.

I was looking through a tooling catalog for threading tools. In the catalog they said something about the canned threading cycles on a lathe doesnt make real good threads sometimes because of the depth of cut isn't deep enough or something. It said that it is better to write a custom program for threading? Now im new to this stuff so I do not know what they are talking about. Anyone know what they are talking about and if you do can you give me an example of a custom threading program. Thanks again.

From personal experience on a Haas CNC lathe there is nothing wrong with the threading cycles. As in all machining you may have to make minor adjustments to hit size.
Tony

G92 will give you custom threading.
example...2''-12 thread...numbers may not be accurate but it's just for show.

G92 X1.980 Z-3.00 F.0833 DEPTH OF FIRST CUT CAN BE AS HEAVY OR LIGHT AS YOU NEED
\X1.960 CAN MAKE CUT DEPTH WHAT EVER I WANT IN EACH X MOVE...THE \ IS THERE FOR THE FIRST PASSES TO ALLOW ME TO SKIP THEM IF I RERUN PART TO HIT SIZE,NOT NEEDED BUT HELPS ON DEEP THREADS
\X1.950
\X1.940
\X1.930
X1.920
X1.910
X1.9
X1.895 be careful on taking light cuts in a thread.sometimes you need a couple light passes for spring back.Other times it will cause chatter or shitty thread..you just have to give it a go and adjust from there.
X1.892
G00 X10. Z.03
M30