What's new
What's new

Thread rolling 3/4-10 x 5.75"L in Turning Center?

red beard

Cast Iron
I received an RFQ for several hundred parts with 5.75" long 3/4-10 threads. Material is A36 hrs (or whatever low carbon steel I want to use). I have no experience thread rolling, but it would seem like the best way to make these parts in a turning center. It would be run on a Hyundai Hit-18s.

If I was just doing a few parts I would single point them or set up a Geometric die head in the Turret lathe, but I at this quantity, I want something that will run consistently and reliably. It seems like rolling the threads would be a better option. I'm looking at the LMT/Fette axial rolling heads. (There are a couple on ebay the right size.)

Does this sound doable? Any other tips or input would be appreciated.

I have only thread rolled brass. My logic says a few things. First for several hundred if you factor in the full cost of a tool that someone else probably already has chances are you won't get the job. Also if your turret is a little out of alignment or the tool is miss set you may get some nasty effects on a thread of that dimension. I single point long threads using my live center all the time and with the right insert would expect 150 or so of your parts before replacing and maybe an offset every 50. I would think single pointing would take around 60 seconds. I don't think this job is a good one to try to learn something new on. Unless of course if there is an extreme and expensive learning curve the money isn't coming out of your pocket. How much for the rolling head and new rollers? Also am curious the time rolling saves and I wonder how much HP it takes.