Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Tormach Mill or not

oly2brf5 is offline Plastic

Default My Experience of Tormach

At the beginning of this year I imported a Tormach mill into the UK. Generally I'm very pleased with it and the support from Tormach has been very good.

The Tormach mill has been used professionally to machine several heatsinks and casework for a 30kW AC to DC boost converter. The fact that I needed to make chips under a lot of work pressure pushed me towards buying a new machine with good support.

Before buying the Tormach I did consider two alternatives:

1) New 'professional' CNC such as the smaller Haas machines - just too expensive, the ROI didn't stack up given that I'm not a professional machinist and the machine will be idle for long periods.

2) Second-hand 'Bridgeport' type CNC mills - still quite expensive in the UK and I really didn't feel like mucking about with 1980s style electronics and expensive replacements if there were problems.

In both the above cases another downside is that the machines would not fit in the space available, and not by inches but by feet. I operate out of my garage, so space is at a premium.

I've used the Tormach solidly for three months and it has paid for itself in that time.

A few random thoughts on the Tormach:

I've had very few mechanical issues, just one spring missing from new, sent FOC

One internal fuse has blown, probably because the 220V supply in my rural part of the UK is nearer 250V.

I didn't buy a stand from Tormach. The deluxe stand will not fit in the space available and the 110V coolant pump is of no use in the UK. It would also have increased shipping and import duty costs. I welded my own stand up from 2" square steel tube, 6mm steel plate and 1.6mm sheet metal for the coolant tray.

The largest part I've machined was 320mm by 320mm by 38mm, so with careful planning and jigging it is possible to exceed the nominal work envelope.