What's new
What's new

Tornos Vs Citizen

Pitglc

Aluminum
Hello everyone first time, long time. I have been given the task of deciding wich of these machines should be my company's second cnc swiss.
We would like to do some complex dental parts on this machine wich will include off center eliptical milling.If there is anyone out there who might have both brands of these machines in their shop and would like to offer their opinion I would appreciate the input. We are trying to decide between a Citizen M16 and a Tornos 20 A
Thanks!

Sorry, I can only vouch for Star SR20R models,
they used to be pretty cheap a few years ago
with all the bells and whistles. These machines
are used alot by the dental part manufacturers
and their sub contractors. Most dental parts
are small and they aren't fun to run, my
sympathies to the operators,.........Bob

I would go with Citizen over Tornos any day.

Back in the late 90's I worked in a shop that had both and the Tornos were complete crap compared to the Citizen.

Get the Citizen M20 because that will give you a bigger OD capacity even though you many not need it right away, it would be a lot cheaper than having to buy another machine just because of not planning ahead right away.

As far Star machines, those are really nice also plus they use the Fanuc control panel.

Just one more thing to think about if all the machines in the shop use a Fanuc control panel.

Why limit yourselves to picking between two brands?

For an alternative to the Tornos check this machine out:

Video from Google Video

For an alternative to the Citizen there is this:

http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-8861819572408456566

And for a Swiss that can do absolutely anything and be changed over in ten minutes there is this video:

http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=7790843153265630790

This machine can do angled abutments right out of the box. Assuming that those are the dental parts you are needing to do.