What's new
What's new

Trouble Drilling 316 Stainless, God save the drills they're dying all around me

HideTheCarbide9

Plastic
Hey there guys,

I'm a first time poster here, I always look at the forums for tips and tricks and figured it was time for me to register.

I'm trying to get through a 14.75 x 14.75 1 in. Thick plate of 316L stainless. I'm tooling on it in a VF-6 HAAS vertical Mill, with the New Gen controller, with BobCAD as my CADCAM software. I'm 25, and didn't know what machining was a year ago, and I'm now fabricating for a prototype R+D Shop as one of the only 2 CNC operators/programmers. What little training I have was Manual Machine based, so losing the tactile feel and squeal of cutters on the material has been difficult for me. not to bore you with my whole life story but just to give context as to what my background is. I'm over my head every day of the week.

This plate has 16 perimeter holes thru, at .391 diameter. then a .27, .16, and a .44 for good measure. I'm trying to pilot drill these diameters with a .140 HSS Twist Drill from when Jesus was a private, but I'm snapping these little f***ers like a Husky in a pile of pigeon bones. My supervisor has approved that I can order tooling if I need it, but he wants me to make sure my speeds and feeds aren't whats blowing my bits.

I've done as much research as I could into Machinery's Handbook, youtube videos, and any forum I can find related to speeds and feeds for stainless steel but I'm still burning bits. I've only run the .140 Bit so far but these are the speeds I came up with;

.44 Drill
RPM= 260.5
Feed IPM= 1.0

.391 Drill
RPM= 293.1
Feed IPM= 1.2

.27 Drill
RPM= 424.4
Feed IPM= 1.7

.21 Drill
RPM= 545.7
Feed IPM= 2.2

.16 Drill
RPM= 716
Feed IPM= 2.9

.14 Drill
RPM= 818.6
Feed IPM= 3.3