What's new
What's new

Rescued Deckel FP1

lynxer

Plastic
Hello guys!

I am new to the Deckel Club! I have recently purchased a FP1 that was destined for the scrapper. It needs some TLC, but I can handle that.

I have 2 issues. First is that I am missing the electrical box. Some how some where it was divided from the machine and the owner died. So I have no box.

The second issue I have is that the motor is running on 440v 3 phase. I have 220v 3 Phase.

Can I solve my 2 problems by upgrading to a 220v motor and vfd? What is my best course of action?

IMG_0721.jpg

Attachments

• IMG_0721.jpg
    IMG_0721.jpg
    90 KB · Views: 330
  • IMG_0721.jpg
    IMG_0721.jpg
    90 KB · Views: 311
Hi All,

All 440V 3 phase motors are dual voltage, if as Ross mentioned the six connections are in the terminal box then you can change the connections from "star" to "delta which will give you 220-240V. There should be instructions to do this on the inside of the terminal box lid or on the instruction sheet in the box.

The information plate on the side of the motor will show if it is dual voltage configured otherwise you will have to dig into the internal insulation to find the star point where the 3 ends of 3 the phase coils are joined. This is a skilled job as damage to the windings can occur. To have this done professionally would probably cost as much as a new Chinese motor!

Alan

Hi All,

All 440V 3 phase motors are dual voltage, if as Ross mentioned the six connections are in the terminal box then you can change the connections from "star" to "delta which will give you 220-240V. There should be instructions to do this on the inside of the terminal box lid or on the instruction sheet in the box.
If the motor is two speed 95% chance it is single voltage. There do exist dual voltage two speed motors but they are very rare. In my entire career I've only encountered one dual voltage two speed motor, which was on a Hardinge HLV-H.