What's new
What's new

Agiecharmilles VP3 error

EXP10

Plastic
I am completely new to wire EDM. My work purchase one and it's the only one we have. I had a 4 day crash course to run this expensive machine. It's now been 5 months of playing around. It's not used for production parts , just shop fixes and engineering changes of hole moved stuff like that. Ok here is my problem. I tried to burn with a height of 110 mm 1st time something this tall.) the machine feed me this error message:
Height of the allowed machine area lower than the piece piece. I'm sure it's just a z height accidentally hit bit I can't figure it out. Like I said I'm new to this and themachine. I'm the only one took the lead to run it. Hopping someone one with a AgieCharmilles can shed some light my way.

Not sure about the VP3 control but on the CUT series:

When you create the .tec file you are prompted to enter a part height.

There is also a part height setting (HP) on the "User Settings" page.

If there is too much difference between the two a similar error occurs.

The VP3 is going to be a different set-up from the CUT series...

In his case, the height of work piece is greater than Z correction picked up by upper head probe (or what was manually set there)
You need to cheat and lower the value of the Z Height of part in Piece Editor/ Piece Dimension.

Machine probes top of part and puts that value in Z corrections column.
If that value is lower than total Z height of part he programmed, the machine thinks the part is sitting below table 0 at bottom of part and won’t run job in order to avoid collision at lower head.

So the best trick is to change the Height (Z) to lower value, lower than Z correction.

Screen Shot 1.jpgScreen Shot 2.jpg