What's new
What's new

Anyone have experience EDMing neodymium magnets

SBAER

Hot Rolled
I design and build prototype electric motors with arc segment shaped rare earth magnets in them. The magnets are manufactured in China and I can order them to size but it takes about 5 or 6 weeks to get them. Has anyone here shaped a magnet with either a wire or sink type edm? With the wire, the two parts formed would repel each other and this might cause them to fracture? Anyone interested in trying (I would pay and supply the magnet of course).

I could try to do that for you. I have no experience with it but my Robofil 290 is rarely in use, and I have really quick turn around. I like weird stuff. email me.

I have done a lot of that, actually... Exactly as you describe, save that the magnets were U.S. manufacture. The key is in the fixture. This keeps the "drop" from flipping over. Every now and again, you get one that wants to flip opposite, essentially pinching the wire. I'll see if I've got any pics of the set-ups.

I just realized that you were asking to have someone do this for you. ( I was rushed and did not read all the way through ) I'll be happy to look at your drawings, but did not intend to step on Dan's toes. If he is still interested, please send them to him as well so he can quote it as well. Yes, the cut debris still remains magnetic, but it is so minute of particle that it is of little consequence, other than accumulating on other magnetic things, given the chance. I actually keep a bag of VERY strong neo mags at the return, on the table, so that ALL debris gets caught there, before heading into the filter tank. I clean the "mag bag" once a week.