What's new
What's new

Burn time for tall part, many noob questions

BridgeportinD2

Hot Rolled
Fellas-

Being a total noob to EDM, I've got some questions for you old hands.

My foreman brought me a two-piece job to wire yesterday, and this is definitely the tallest job I've done in my short time on the wire.

It's a simple job, cutting a 1/8" wide slit through the side of a flanged cylinder relative to it's center.

The cross section of where I'm burning is: the flange height and thickness(where it terminates at the cylinder wall) is 3/4" x 3/4". The remaining cylinder wall measures 8-1/4" height x 7/8" thickness. That works out to being approximately 31-1/8 square inches full-slot for the in and out passes.

Note- No super fussy tolerance or surface finish, as this is just a crush slot. Just rough burn.

So, I'm needing reassurance/guidance on the burn rate on the tall detail of this part and my resistivity readings.

I watched the screen when the cut went from the flange to the tall portion, and noted it went from running at .061"/minute to .0048"/minute, which didn't really alarm me. I changed the power settings a bit to get a better rate. Wound up burning at .0052"/minute comfortably.

Noted resitivity at the start of the burn, it was 64,000 ohms/cm, and at times during the day I checked the rate and resistivity. Rate stayed right at .005/minute, resistivity was at last check 540,000 ohms/cm.:eek:

That resitivity reading alarms me. Almost 8-1/2 times from when the burn started.

Machine- Sodick AQ327L, company bought new in 2006.

Wire- Sodick Hightech .010" brass.

Material being wired is 4140@42 Rc, if that matters.

Changed filters, water, and resin tank 1 week ago.

Cleaned both upper and lower conductivity pieces and indexed them to a new surface at the same time.

What are you fellas thinking on this? Am I a worry-wart that needs to calm the hell down or do things look out of line?

Many thanks guys.