What's new
What's new

Calibrated hole making edm sinker

kaigamw13

Plastic
Hello and good morning to everyone.
I am new in edm sinking and i have a problem that i
Wanted to ask if anyone else has experienced also.
Many times i try to make calibrated holes, for
Example d3,d5.... That have tolerance 0.01.
The problem is that many times the holes becomes
Reverse conical(i dont know if i explain it correctly).
It comes out like that /\.
So if i try to make a d5 i try to be 5 on top and 5.01
At the bottom.on deeper holes though its more than 0.01.
Can anyone explain why this happens and how can i make a correct hole.
I tried external flushing/ spindle flushing.
I tried electrodes that are bought or i made myself in turning machine
It happens in through holes and blind ones.
In through holes most of the time its like a barrel.
I mean that its 5 on top.5.01 at the middle.5 at the bottom.
Any ideas will be appreciated.

Hi kaigamw:
If your holes are blind holes and are bigger in the middle or on the bottom, you are almost certainly getting overburn from trapped cut debris in your holes, which creates unwanted errors of form.
There are two common ways to deal with this:
The first is to vacuum flush, so the cut debris is pulled from the spark gap through the electrode.
The second is to orbit the electrode so there's more room for the debris to be pushed from the cavity without encroaching on the spark gap and causing unwanted overburn.

As an additional note, whenever you need excellent geometry in a burned round hole it's worthwhile to also rotate the electrode, either with the C axis of the machine (if it has one) or with an aftermarket gadget like a RotoBore, but when you do so you must be very certain your electrode is very precisely co-axial to the rotating axis or you'll make the problem much worse because the tip of the electrode will describe an arc that's bigger than the trode diameter as soon as the axes are misaligned.