What's new
What's new

Heavy Rust pitting, Quality of water and so on

Sethrocon

Plastic
I have been using an old Pratt & Whitney Wire CUT W1 for about 6 years now, it is a non-submersible machine.

2 Months ago we obtained a CHMER CW-643S Wire EDM that is submersible. The machine had fresh filters, resin, and distilled water put into it when we installed the machine.

I have cut many die blocks so far and the rust is incredible. Last week I cut a punch block that is 3.75" tall with some profile punches so the cutting time per punch is about 14-16 hours. After the cut the block is so rusted that the surface shows pitting on it and needs to be ground about 0.0010"-0.0015".

I've changed the resin and the filters but the rust still carries on. While cutting, the water in the tank is jet black from soot/slurry and rests on all surfaces. The machine cycles water based on the level sensor on the upper head.

Overall cutting speed seems fine to me compared to our older machine. on a 3.75" tall block I was getting a feed of about 0.050"/min.

Does the water in the main tank usually turn jet black after cutting for 1-2 hours?

The water coming out of the filter reservoir is crystal clear and it overflows into the exchange reservoir beside it, the water from the exchange reservoir cycles into the flooded tank and the jets shoot water in from the filtered tank.

Any advice?

Attachments

• IMG_20140929_090659[1].jpg
    IMG_20140929_090659[1].jpg
    94 KB · Views: 284
  • IMG_20141001_141400[1].jpg
    IMG_20141001_141400[1].jpg
    86.2 KB · Views: 257
Last edited:
Hi Sethrocon:
Two questions?
Have you checked the pH of your water?
Did you cut workpieces made from other materials than steel?
The reason I ask, is that corrosion like you describe is typically either from acidic water, or from galvanic corrosion caused by residues of materials in the tank with a different electrochemical potential interacting with your workpiece.