What's new
What's new

Machine Learning for Wire EDM

Motorsports-X

Hot Rolled
As most of us in here know, the wire EDM process is insanely variable and complex. When you start to think about all the processes and parameters that are involved -wire type, speed, tension, spark gap, voltage/amperage, flushing, offsets, sensitivities, etc) - its almost amazing that it works at all. As a machinist my first job is to cut steel; but as an engineer and naturally curious person I like to understand the underlying physics of how things work the way they do (such as why HSM allows you to run such hi feed rates)

I thought a few weeks ago that it would be nice for "us" to have a calculator/database that allows us to input cut parameters, machine, and material specs etc. Over the course of years and thousands of inputs, you would be able to query your particular process and get a good statistically sound set of parameters that give you a fast, precise cut.. (with outliers ignored)

Then I got to thinking, that would be a lot to ask thousands of people to input all those parameters on a regular basis, so why not teach the machine to drive the same way tesla is teaching its cars to steer?

I found this paper that goes into depth on machine learning and how its applicable to wire edm.

http://www.iaeme.com/MasterAdmin/UploadFolder/20320130406019\20320130406019.pdf

WHat would your input be on this? would you have a problem networking and sending your cut data back to a grid to be processed?

Hi Motorsports-X:
I believe the paper to be rather naive with regard to the real-world state of the art and the power of data mining for this sort of application.
The proposal appears to be to try to refine a set of inputs everyone can use by taking the collective experience of many machines taking many cuts and attempting to apply data mining techniques to them in order to be able to predict what your machine must do to make your best possible cut when you want it to.