What's new
What's new

Makino SP43 WEDM Ion Exchange System

bigjon61

Hot Rolled
I am looking for one of the parts for our ion exchange system. It is the round cylinder type filter that goes inside of the resin bottles in the back of the machine, and is held under the bottle lids with another plastic nut. AFAIK it prevents the resin from being washed into machine's dielectric fluid system. Any idea where to source this part, or even what to start calling it? The manual is of no help, and our parts consumables list has nothing listed on it.

On that note, what is the best way to change the resin in these things? I've been working with this machine for 3 years now, and haven't found an easy, clean, efficient way to go about getting the resin out of the bottle without making a mess. Right now I'm just dumping the water out into the sink until the resin almost spills out, and at that point I pour it into a bucket and allow it to dry, and then put it into a sealed keg to ship out for cleaning. Would putting a panty hose over the mouth of the bottles hold back the resin? Or are the resin beads too small?

An exchange program would be ideal, but people above my pay grade would have none of it. Apparently when we purchased this machine to replace an old Sodick that burned down, management "did research", and buying our own resin and sending it out to be cleaned was more cost effective. For some reason it is like pulling teeth to get parts and consumables ordered for this machine. We will waste $10,000 on special jigs, fixtures, and home built automated machines to make up for incompetency in our welding department, but when it comes to ordering NEEDED PARTS its like I just asked for a 3000% pay raise.