What's new
What's new

What is the best wire EDM Machine to buy?

Joe Ruggles

Plastic
I have been running a Brother HS 50 Wire EDM since new in 2003 and now we are looking to buy another new machine. What is everyone's opinion on what machine is the best? I know I have not had many problems with the Brother but I am wanting to see if there are machines that run faster, low downtime, better cost per inch to run, that kind of thing. Thanks for all of the input everyone can give here. It is a lot of money and just looking to spend wisely.

Agie/Charmilles are pretty nice but, they haven't been living up to there old standards lately and I see a lot of shops switching to Makino. I have a Makino and have been really happy with it.

Joe

I have been ( and still am) running an HS3100 since 1998 and an HS50-A since 2001.
Honestly can say that if Brother was still in the EDM market, I'd have a shiny new one of them on the floor as well.

But, that is not to be, so last year got a Makino as the next brand to be loyal to.
So far, I cannot say a single bad word about the machine, the thing is virtually flawless.

Not sure what you're cutting with the Brother, making a semi obvious guess that it's production.
If so, please ask away anything you want as I am strictly a "bandsaw" shop of just about anything and everything
and can give relevant answers to what you're using now and what to expect from Makino.

Regardless tho, one thing you must keep an open mind for: The differences between the Brother tech settings compared to whatever
brand you get are astronomical!!!
Take the 5 little settings you can tinker with meaningfully on the Brother, and multiply it by at least 20 on the Makino, other brands are surely similar.

We still run a pair of HS-70A machines and I too wish Brother still made wire-edm's.

All our other edm machines are Charmilles and Agie-Charmille machines and we've been quite happy with them.