What's new
What's new

Wiring tips/tricks using .004 diameter wire

Nc_coder

Plastic
I have an upcoming wiring job which is circular serrated profile and the customer wants the smallest radius possible in the peaks and valleys. I tried using .008 wire but the customer wants a smaller radius yet so this time I am going with .004 wire. I've never used wire this small before and I am looking for some experienced advice.

1) Would this be the proper technique for wiring this profile? Rough out the stock using my .008 wire leaving like .005 stock on the walls then going in with the .004 wire with roughing/finishing passes?

2)Is auto threading feasible with this diameter wire? If not any tricks to manually wiring it up?

3)Do I have to lower the air pressure on the wire feed rollers?

I am using a 2017 Mits MV wire machine.

Thanks!

We just cut some small 1/2 " thick punches with .004 wire on new Mits .
We used hard brass but I like coated or steel core .004 wire the best. The machine threaded and ran .004 pretty well I guess. There was accuracy tecs and DFS tecs.
We have wire chopper on our machine and that had to be swung out of the way and the air pressure was lowered on pinch rollers.
I was sealed off and had optimal cutting conditions and did have a few wire breaks.
I lower the IP and raise the SB .
As far as the technique you described to rough with .008 and leave .005 stock to come back and trim with .004 wire will work well. And only thing I would suggest is to adjust the rough pass EPAK on the .004 wire trim set up. I would lower flush to 1/2 of what it's set @ and also bump up the SB and watch the actually feed rate and adjust parameters to get somewhat close to what it is set to . This has worked for us so I hope it helps.

Thanks for the advice!I am programming the wire path using Espirit. When I change the spool it will ask me what the wire size is since I am not programming using the machines interface is this setting irrelevant?