What's new
What's new

Troubleshooting my Plasma Cutter

injun

Plastic
Just got a YA2225 Snap-on Plasma Cutter on Ebay. I'm new to these machines,maybe i have a simple problem,but i can't get it to work. It turns on ,air pressure sensor activates(70ps in)when i press the switch,but i get no Plasma. Then after afew seconds of holding the switch on the torch on the air sensor drops out. Could i have a problem with the torch consumables?

I am unfamiliar with SO's torch I think Century builds for them.

Does the unit have error lights?
Nine times out of 10 the problem is in the torch itself and the nozzle and electrode are to blame.

The electrode comes in contact with a buttom inside of the torch handle and this can get dirty and cause a failure. I have witnessed this on both my Miller and Hypertherm plasmas.

Maybe this will get you going in the right direction

Tom

TFPace is right, it is a century. Give me the number off the back and I will look up its schematic at work monday.

-Jerry

have the same plasma, had to do a bit of work on mine to get it to work. mine does not light off unless in contact with work then lift off..then stays lit if trigger remains depressed...but better than nothin..as wasnt workin before. there is a helpful guy here....got my parts from him...new board, fan, consumables..etc

http://www.weldmart.com/

give him a call

scott

Try turning the air pressure up a few PSI. Unless you have a REALLY good air supply (huge tank and a big dia hose) you could be getting a few PSI pressure drop at the machine causing the switch to drop out.

Had that problem when I first got my Plazcut; it's supposed to be at 70psi but I have to set the reg at around 75 to keep the switch from dropping out.

injun-

Had the same problem with out Hypertherm, a combination of low air and no contact at start.