What's new
What's new

Cut star shape in sheet aluminum

Jfc12

Plastic
So I'm new to all this, forgive me if I sound uneducated on some things. Basically I'm trying to make American flags out of sheet aluminum (5052- 0.04"). The biggest problem I have is trying to cut out the 50 stars for the flag. The stars are pretty small, they have a diameter of 1.17" around the points. The only successful solution to this problem has been using my Dremel 3000 with a 1-1/4" cut off wheel. However this is quite a lengthy process.

Was just wondering if anyone could shed some wisdom of maybe an easier and more importantly, a quicker way to accomplish this?

Some things I already tried doing:
-made custom router duplicator (basically my attempt at a sort of "manual CNC" machine). And then use a template of the stars to trace and hopefully get decent stars (haven't bought the router for it yet because still debating whether it is even possible to cut thru this aluminum with a 1/16" bit)
-used my Dremel as a router with over 10 different types of 1/16" router bits, no luck
(using 1/16" bits because the stars are so small I still want some sort of point rather than a 1/8" which would leave really rounded).

Thinking maybe some sort of custom punch or a custom hydraulic press with star shapes on them? Feel like there has to be an easy way to do this because of it being aluminum and it being so thin (0.04").

Note: CNC and laser cutting are not an option for me due to price (full time engineering student on a students budget).

I appreciate any help and guidance anyone can provide!

Could wire EDM a star die and make the star punch on a surface grinder. Double die so one might Guide the punch.
Perhaps someone here would know the price.

engineering student? any axcess to wire EDM there.

Look up 'pancake die' You could probably do something similar using the idea as a starting point.

Option 2: Drill 3/8" hole through where each star should be.