What's new
What's new

Fabrication / Fixturing / Welding table build

slodat

Aluminum
I started building this table March 2010. I built it to support a 3' x 4' top with 4" overhang on all sides. Since then I have been keeping an eye out for a piece of thick plate or possibly a machine table to use for a top. If the plate worked out, I planned to drill and tap a grid of 1/2-13 holes so I can use commonly available milling machine clamps for fixtures and such.

The base is built out of 2"x3"x.125 tubing, like so..

IMG_1891.jpg

The bottom is similar, it will have an inset in the center of one long side so I can sit at the table and weld. This is the beginning of laying it out to see how things will look.

IMG_1894.jpg

When I built this it was my second welding project ever. I'm completely self taught. I used two pieces of 1' x 2' x 1" steel on top of my toolbox to put this together.

The casters are bolted to 3/8" plates welded to the bottom of the base, kinda like so:

IMG_1895.jpg

IMG_1929.JPG

IMG_1930.jpg

I bought a portaband mount from Troy at Swag Off Road. At some point I plan to mount up some 2" receiver hitch tool holders. This will have the appropriate mount..

IMG_1933.jpg

I used the table in the above form for the past 2.5 years. A week ago I spied this at a local scrap yard:

IMG_6506.jpg

IMG_6507.jpg

Negotiated a very good price for the table and it was mine. It had years of dried oil and chips protecting it from the elements. I scraped it off and power washed it prior to putting it in the shop.

IMG_6509.jpg

Here it is after a couple of hours cleaning out holes and working on the surface.

IMG_6511.jpg

I'll get the other half cleaned up and the surface looking nice in the morning. Then, I need to do some finish welding on the base and prep it for some paint. I am really excited to finally have found a top for the table I started so long ago.

The top piece is 21" x 49" x 1-7/8". Every other hole is tapped 1/2-13.