What's new
What's new

hand tapping 1-1/4"-7 holes

dchorvath

Plastic
I have a project I need to do off-site. The parts weigh 10 tons each. It requires drilling and tapping some 1-1/4"-7 blind holes. I'll probably use a Hougen to mag drill the 1-7/64" holes using a HSS drill bit. Should I use a taper then bottom tap with plenty of lube? The blind holes have to be 2-1/2" deep. Any suggestions will help.

-Dave

Lamina makes a pretty big remote hydraulic motor drive mag drill/tapping machine.

See if you can rent one.

maybe you can use a ridgid 700 pony pipe threader with some sort of custom adapter, if you have a bunch to do...

Sounds like you have a flat surface. Get a piece of scrap and drill a hole in it to where the tap will pass through. The hole will be bigger than 1¼ by one size up. Use this as a guide for squareness to the work.

What Ray said. I had to do something like this when I was an apprentice.
You need to start straight, If you get crooked you are hosed . Since it will take a good amount of force to tap it, it will be easy to cock it. Better to have somebody else there as a second set of eyes.

Add a decent countersink to the list, you want to ease entry into the hole. And perhaps you can put a pointed guide into the mag drill and have it act as the tap guide, use a large open-end wrench to start the thread, when well engaged you can remove the drill and go to a two-handed wrench if you want. Having a second pair of hands to follow the tap with the drill helps.

I agree with the taper then bottom approach, and test the lube on a scrap piece of steel. You want something that helps the cut but isn't so "sticky" that it makes chip clearing and final cleaning a pain.

Tapping torque calculator gives ballbark figure 250Nm torque if you do it with single tap. :) Big ratcheting wrench with 4 feet extension would be my choice.
Do-able for couple of holes but I would try to utilize leg muscles instead of arms..