What's new
What's new

Lincoln Ideal Arc Tig 250 AC Issues

big_i11580

Plastic
Hi all

I know many of you guys have this TIG welder at home and hopefully you can help me out. When I try to run the AC on this the arc is only on for half the time. The power is only on for about 1-2 seconds, then fades to nothing, then starts up again, and repeat over and over. Diode out? If so where are they located (pictures would help), easiest way to get to it? I downloaded the manual and the pictures look like some 1st graders art project. Also what arc gap should i have? I am new to this machine. All pointers and help would be immensely appreciated. Thanks.

DSC01836.jpg

i have this machine.

which process? stick? tig? are you using the remote pedal? controlling current at
the machine ? or with the pedal?

what does it do when you DC tig weld with the switch set to " HF start only ?
what does it do when you AC tig weld with the switch set to " HF ON ?
what does it do when you AC stick weld with the switch set to OFF ?

i don't know , but don't diodes usually rectify the AC to get DC?

the spark gap should be stamped by the little access plate . i think mine says
.008 or .010 i really don't remember .

do you have a photo of YOUR machine .
we can't tell much from that 3-year old stock photo.

Tnmgcarbide

i have this machine.

which process? stick? tig? are you using the remote pedal? controlling current at
the machine ? or with the pedal? TIG, Foot Pedal

what does it do when you DC tig weld with the switch set to " HF start only ? I'll try it tonight when I get home
what does it do when you AC tig weld with the switch set to " HF ON ?I'll try it tonight when I get home
what does it do when you AC stick weld with the switch set to OFF ?I'll try it tonight when I get home

i don't know , but don't diodes usually rectify the AC to get DC?

the spark gap should be stamped by the little access plate . i think mine says