What's new
What's new

Little problem with torchmate 3

farmhouseforge

Plastic
Hello all. I am primarily an artist and blacksmith, cnc is a new area for me.
I have acquired a torchmate 3 table and am cutting sprockets for a kinetic sculpture. My oroblem is the table is cutting along the inside of my line creating sprockets with thin weak teeth. I need to understand how to program the machine to cut to the outside. Any ideas?

are you using the Torchmate CAD Lite software or another?

If you are using Torchmate CAD Lite when you are ready to create a tool path

Select object to create the path, click machine -> create tool path -> male

Thanks for responding.
This is the driver that came with the table. Circa 2004. Version 3.0.9. I am not able to find any place to create a male tool path yet.

I got the sprocket generator from IdleAmusements.com. I have been cutting out ansi #40 with 12 teeth for my tests.

Last time I got a torchmate up and running (the software is a joke BTW)
You had to request "outside" or "male" and then it made the toolpath....

Including a center hole on the sprocket (if you drew on your .DXF file)...:toetap:

So then you have an "outside the lines" toolpath on the hole (which you don't want)
and then you need to edit, and IIRC hand re-do that hole, PITA with a bolt circle
with multiple holes.....:nutter:

Last time I got a torchmate up and running (the software is a joke BTW)
You had to request "outside" or "male" and then it made the toolpath....

Including a center hole on the sprocket (if you drew on your .DXF file)...:toetap:

So then you have an "outside the lines" toolpath on the hole (which you don't want)
and then you need to edit, and IIRC hand re-do that hole, PITA with a bolt circle
with multiple holes.....:nutter:

Its definitely not like that anymore.

If you create the object as a part and create as many holes or shapes as you want then create the toolpath it should create the correct path