What's new
What's new

Messer Metalmaster XCEL Reviews

AD Design

Stainless
The company where I work is about ready to pull the trigger on a plasma cutting system to help with fabrication. I don't know if they have any real first-hand experience with a plasma system, purchasing for companies is too often left in the hands of those that can only read the sales brochures. The price tag warrants a review from someone other than the sister operation in Pa. If any of the collective has experience with Messer, the products they sell, or even a competitor's equipment I'd really appreciate the opinions from those that own/use. I was a machinist/toolmaker for 25 years and don't know enough about a plasma system to have a qualified opinion but do know to solicit and listen to the voice of experience. I have questions regarding accuracy, maintenance, and the drilling option but any comments would be helpful. Thank you for taking your time to read this.

Messer builds a top of the line machine. This will be a six figure purchase I'm guessing. What features are you looking at including?
Their ducted fume removal and the "Slagger" clean out features are great too.
I have a water table and would probably go with down draft system to do it again.

I should think it's a buyers market right now.

I would send them some CAD files, have them burn them for you.

Inspect thoroughly, if you like what you see, then proceed to a tour
of the identical machine in their shop.

How they do things, all the way from receiving that CAD file, to programming,
hole optimizing, nesting, and actually running.

^ Im with doug, the machines only one part, nesting software is everything when it comes down to what machine, you want a combination that plays well together. That means both the table, plasma, extraction and nesting. Any one being off is a killer on even the best of machines.