What's new
What's new

Miller Vintage Wire Welder won't weld

lewis

Aluminum
My Miller Vintage MIG welder quit welding this afternoon. It was doing fine, but after I stopped and turned it off and then 10 minutes later when I turned it on, it will feed the wire but no weld. I have gas. I read the Miller manual and it said this was a ground problem. I checked the ground and even tried to strike an arc directly to the ground. The other solution from Miller was replace the contact tip. I did this and still no weld.

Any suggestions?

Thanks,
Lewis

how vintage ?

It would help a lot if you can be more specific about model numbers .
What might be vintage to you , might be the same machine some of us have been using for years .
I have a Shopmaster that I took 60 miles to get serviced , only to find a small limit switch out of adjustment .
Sometimes a small thing can be the big problem .
When you pull the trigger , the wire feeds right ?
but do you also hear the internal contactor clicking to send current to the gun ?
FBBob

Try a different weld range on the big switch.

If that dont make a difference listen for a clunking that the contactor should make.

If you hear it take a volt meter and check the voltage on the two power studs in the wire cabinet with the trigger pulled. Open circuit should be around 25 to 30v depending on your range switch setting.

Bob, the Miller Vintage is a model. It was a modern version of the old MM35/135.

It is a Miller called a Vintage. Miller quit making I think the Millermatic 250 and people did not like the new digital machine they brought out to replace the Millermatic. Miller then brought out a new, old design machine and called it a Vintage. Yes, when I pull the trigger the wire feeds and the internal contactors click but nothing happens other than the wire feeds out.
Lewis