What's new
What's new

Millermatic 35

Fred Dodd

Plastic
Ok,

So this is my first time to post, and I thought I would come and ask the experts.

I have been looking for a mig for a while now and have come across and old Millermatic 35. What are your opinions on this machine? I will be using it in a home shop and on nothing heavier than 3/8" material. Are parts still available, and is this machine still serviceable? I am into wood working and collect/use the old machines so this will be used mainly to build mobile bases and what not.

Thanks,
Fred

3/8 might be pushing this machine quite a bit, but I use one all the time, its a great machine, durable, and makes a decent weld. As far as parts, you will have to replace the gun if its the original, I can't find alot of the parts anymore. most of the internal relays and such are availible. i'd buy one if the price was right.

Thanks,

I feel the price is right at 300, I think I can afford to invest a little in the machine if need be. Honestly most of my work will be in the 1/4" range. I just would rather buy an older welder than a new one if it will do the job just fine.

Yep, I'd buy it. If you need parts or a gun, call Larry @ Weldmart Online (800-460-6474 - Spring, TX) ...he knows all the old welders and has parts or sources for everything, including all of my old Lindes. The MM35 is a great little machine for 0.035" hard wire...have never used one with flux core (I'd definitely use gas shielded flux cored wire if you go this route also) but would guess it would run well with that too. The flux cored wire allows great side wall fusion with low power...I try to tell people new to it that it's like stick welding as far as strength and ease of use (actually easier to use). You can multipass weld about as thick as you want with cored wire. A good site to read up on mig welding is Weldreality.com - a bit hard to read sometimes, but great info, and no BS.