What's new
What's new

Options for welding aluminum, Spool Gun vs Tig ve OA vs... bubblegum?

Parkerbender

Stainless
Okay, I have a bunch of canisters to (hopefully) make, and they are just 6"OD tube, 1/8" wall, round lasered end caps, and round lasered flanges, they can be however thick I want to make them-ish (.125, .1875, maybe even .25 if I wanted, but why). If I had 100 or so of these to do every other month, how would we want to do these? They don't see more than maybe 40ish psi, but they cant have any pinholes or anything, so am I out of luck on the spoolgun? I have no experience with anything but Tig, but our Tig welder is getting a little tired, so if we end up getting this I am most likely going to get a new welder regardless of which direction we go. The kid doing this is pretty good at Mig and OA already, he was Mig welding apartment balconies all last year, and before that had a fair amount of practice on OA in school... I am assuming Tig would be the 'standard procedure' to do something like this, but I think they use spool guns on aluminum tanker trailers, so I have no idea...

Thoughts, opinions?

Thanks!
-Parker

I don't have a TIG welder so I don't really have a choice. I also don't weld a lot of AL but do on occasions. I have had very good luck with my spool gun. It takes a while to get the wire feed, gas and current adjusted but once you do it goes really well. I would personally be hard pressed to weld very thin AL with my spool gun (less then 1/16") which would be easy with a TIG. Most of what I weld is 1/2" AL plate and I get full penetration with one pass if I bevel one side. One thing I like about the spool gun is that once you get a rhythm going you don't have to stop.