What's new
What's new

Press brake... A newbie question

TFPace

Stainless
I'll looking for a brake to fold .120 - .187 aluminium.
These are parts for ATV's.
I have zero experience with a CNC brake.
We have a pneumatic Bantam and this isn't what we need.

There's plenty of 50-80 ton machines for sale.
The opening of the brake is important too of course 😉.

Tooling ???

Suggestions please.

Attached is an example of the part I'm talking about.

08a113d59f635d60acbf89eb67c980a5.jpg

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

Tooling can easily cost more than the brake. I have a Promecam with a Hurco CNC back gauge, but very little tooling. The Amada style brakes use European style tooling that is very difficult to find in the used market. American style tooling is much easier to find used.

Those parts look pretty simple for a press brake.

Tooling can easily cost more than the brake. I have a Promecam with a Hurco CNC back gauge, but very little tooling. The Amada style brakes use European style tooling that is very difficult to find in the used market. American style tooling is much easier to find used.

Those parts look pretty simple for a press brake.

Thanks for the heads up on euro tooling versus American tooling.

Peel off the backing on those sample bend parts and look at the strain/stress cracking. Looks like there was little to no-bend radius allowed for....which is often typical.

First you need a back gauge (you can be precise with a good one). A cnc one will open you the possibility to gauge multiple bend fast. (As in your part). Second it help to have a second axis cnc, so you can control the depth of each bend (as in your part). More axis is further more flexible to high number of part / low volume each.