What's new
What's new

Punching Hole in Square Tubing

gkopp88

Plastic
Hey Fellas,
I’m a complete beginner but is there any way to punch holes in square tubing without distorting the shape of the tube?

Need more info. Size of tubing, material, wall thickness, size of hole, one or both walls, how far in from the end, etc.

Answer will vary greatly.

we use to routinely punched 5mm hole in 5/8" square 16G ERW, through one side only, square was undistorted, but there was a natural divot around hole extending out say 1/4" ish but probable only 1-2mm deep tops , but not as bad as you would expect. Helped to grind the end of the punch into a shape that was not a std square too, i use to prefer a shape similar to what you get when you fish-mouth tubing for a 90 degree tee shaped weld joint. This was for a automotive application and upholstery springs went in the holes so it really did not matter much.

2x2x.125. 5/8 holes. 2 are just an inch or so from the end but the other 2 are about 17 inches from the end. They need to go all the way through both sides but I’m not sure if that’s possible. We production lots of these and use the drill press but then we have to clean up the hole of any burrs. Just trying to eliminate a step and speed it up!

I did some work for a shop that did this in round tube about 60mm Holes were not that big 12 mm I think
Through both walls in one stroke on a exentric press A floting die inside the tube Up to 3mtr deep was possible You would think the slug from the first hole was in the way
But no it went straight through I don`t think it will work on a hydraulic press To slow I presume

Peter

What volume are you producing? If it’s less than say, 20-40 a day, you might want to consider an annular cutter like a Jancy slugger bit if you have a mill, pretty dam quick, and clean cut, just 2seconds with a Noga deburring tool and good to go. If you don’t have a mill, you could make a dedicated jig with a mag base drill.